Adjusting . . .

Slowly does it

*

13649148_1787462224799424_1717887362_n

Winter is making it’s arrival known in the meadow. Icy cold rain has poured into the river that runs along side our fields. The ponies are wrapped up in their warmer layers taking shelter under the trees as much as they can. And mud, glorious mud, is officially everywhere – the ponies wearing most of it I may add!

13696708_861000027363940_1887698948_n

You really experience the seasons in the country side. Every day, morning and evening, you head out to battle the elements. Rain, sunshine or snow, my ponies need me ( and my lovely team of horsy family and friends too ) We work together, completing the essential pony care chores around the field – whatever the weather they must be done. The exhilaration is priceless, and the commitment unshakable. It is a life so closely woven into the rural landscape. This landscape that sustains my ponies through out the year, keeps them fed, safe from the raging storms, and gives them a place to call home. You come to care for the land as much as you do for your precious animals living upon it. It is a second home for us all, as so much of our time is spend tending to it.

These darker evenings have meant daylight is extra special, and the ponies are settled down for the night earlier. The longer summer time evenings of picnic suppers amongst the wildflowers are gone now until next year. But … everything has its time and place…and winter must run it’s course and allow the meadow to grow rough around the edges in the process.

Even when I am home, looking out at the grey skies, rain drops dashing the windows fiercely – my thoughts take me to the meadow and my ponies, and what they may be thinking and feeling. Where they maybe taking shelter, are they huddled together out of the wind? Is the hay I put down enough to see them through the night? No matter where I head off to during my day, a little part of me always remains there with them it seems. I guess you can be home sick for the outdoors too . . .

‘What a blessing it is to have something which makes saying goodbye so hard’

Author Unknown

Β *

13561817_255767844794261_1891179143_n

13714160_1129985507047502_1958478821_n

Leave a Reply

